

World Telecom & Information Society Day (WTISD -2021)

Accelerating Digital Transformation in Challenging Times How the ICT sector is responding to COVID-19

Monday 17th May 2021 at 11.30 AM India time

ABOUT ITU-APT FOUNDATION OF INDIA (IAFI)

Regional/international Telecom organisation recognised by ITU

Registered as a Non-Profit Coop Society in India

Sector Member of ITU-R, ITU-T, ITU-D and Affiliate Member of APT

More than 100 Telecom & IT Leaders, Experts & Visionaries as members

Individual and Corporate Members from Many Countries

SPEAKERS TODAY



Malcolm Johnson Deputy Secretary General, ITU

Re-elected ITU Deputy Secretary-General in 2018 for a second fouryear term.

First term as Deputy Secretary-General, from 2014-2018

Director of ITU's Telecommunication Standardization Bureau from 2007 to 2014

initiated the "Bridging the Standardization Gap programme" program

Facilitated a more inclusive participation in ITU's work through the use of remote participation



Anita Praveen. IAS Additional Secretary DOT

Officer of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) of the 1989 batch.

Worked extensively in the Ministries of Industries, Finance and Urban Development in Tamil Nadu

Department of Commerce, Steel and Department of Posts in Government of India

Master's degree in Zoology and Master's degree in Public Policy & Sustainable Development.



R CHANDRASHEKHAR, IAS (RETD).

Ex President NASSCOM & Former Secretary, DOT

Former president of NASSCOM

Former Secretary DIT (MEITY)

Former Secretary, Department of Telecommunications.

conferred the Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Public Administration for the year 2007-08

conferred several awards including Data Quest Path Breaker of the Year Award in 2005 and Distinguished Alumnus award of IIT-Mumbai in 2010.

drove several National Broadband Plan, National Telecom Policy 2012 and many other initiatives

SPEAKERS TODAY



Deepa Tyagi Sr. DDG & Head TEC

- 35 years of experience in the indian telecom sector,
- Alumnus of IIT Roorkee and Management Development Institute, Gurgaon
- Indian Telecom Service (ITS) batch 83
- Worked in BBNL, for India's flagship project , BharatNet
- Managed Data Communications Network installed in the Gram Panchayats.
- AS DDG(Future Networks) steered 2 ITU National working groups namely NWG 12 on QoS/QoE and NWG 16 on multimedia and AI for health the use of remote participation



Dr. Rajkumar Upadhyay-Executive Director, C-DOT

Newly appointed Executive Director and Chairman of the Project Board, C-DOT

Ph.D in Corporate Strategy & Policy from Indian Institute of Management Bangalore

Master of Technology from IIT Roorkee

J. C. Bose award (1987) by MoD, National e-Governance award (2007) by Gol, CIO 100 award (2007) by International Data Group (IDG), and Deepak C. Jain Award (2009) by IIM Bangalore



Dilip Chenoy,

Secretary General, FICCI

Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI is the largest and oldest apex business organisation in India,

FICCI represents over 2,50,000 members through Member Bodies covering all the States of India

served as Managing Director & CEO of the National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) and SIAM as its Director General.

He was a member of the Harvard Business School project under Professor Michael Porter that worked on the competitiveness of Indian industry.

SPEAKERS TODAY

Dr. Aloknath De



Senior VP and CTO

Samsung R&D India

over thirty years of industrial and research experiences including BEL, Nortel (Montreal), Hughes and with ST-Ericsson where he was Country Director.

served as Visiting/Adjunct Professorship with IIT-Roorkee and IIT-Delhi during 2005-2011

Alexander Graham Bell Prize' in Canada.

IETE Memorial Awards' for distinguished contributions in Electronics and Communications.

IDC Insights Award for Innovation in Telecom,

Zinnov Award as 'Intrapreneurship of the Year'

Assocham Award for Corporate Tech Leadership

considered as one of 'Most Influential CIO/CTOs of India'.



Dr. S. K. Mishra Prof. & Head,

PG Inst. of Medical Sciences,

Prof & Head, Dept. of Endocrine Surgery Nodal Officer, SGPGI Telemedicine Program Sanjay Gandhi PG Inst. of Medical Sciences Lucknow, India

Masters in General Surgery (1983) PGMRI Chandigarh.

Member of National Task Force on Telemedicine

Member and Chair of various national Ehealth Project review committees and Consultant for ITU, WHO and UN in ehealth.

At Present supporting the telemedicine division of Ministry of Health, Govt. of India in setting up a network linking all the medical colleges of the country riding over National Knowledge Network (NKN).



Vikram Tiwathia

COAI

Deputy Director General,

COAI is India's leading industry association for Telecom, Broadband and Digital services.

active member of Telecom and Broadband Committees of national industry associations - CII,FICCI, Assocham, TSDSI Committees

Chief Regulatory Relations (CRO), with TATA Teleservices Limited from 2008-10.

Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) as their Chief Information Officer (CIO) for three years (2005 - 2008).

served in the communications arm (Signals) of the Indian Army (for a tenure of 24 years

IAFI TEAM



Tilak Raj Dua, Director General, TAIPA and Chairman IAFI



Prof. NK Goyal- Vice Chairman, IAFI

And Shri H C Soni our Treasurer, Shri Satyen Gupta our Secretary General. Aarush our GM and Ashish, our Sr, Manager

COVID-19 LEARNINGS

Internet and Telecom are a basic human needs, just like water and electricity

Internet and Telecom is provided by wireless devices, networks, and services

Working and studying from home is slowing down the current mobile & Wi-Fi networks

Need to Lower the Cost (reserved price) of 4G/5G spectrum and more unlicensed WIFI bands (6GHz, E&V Bands)

Need to Connect the unconnected–hilly areas, islands, inaccessible areas through satellite broadband - LEOs and GEOs – policy revamp needed

AGENDA

- 11:00-11:30 Registration and networking videos playing in between
- 11:30 11:35 Opening and introduction Shri Bharat Bhatia, President ITU-APT Foundation of India (IAFI)
- 11:35 11:40 Welcome Address Shri T R Dua, Chairman IAFI & DG, TAIPA
- 11:40 11:45 Keynote Address by Shri R. Chandrashekhar, IAS (Retd.), Former President NASSCOM and Former Chairman, Telecom Commission and Secretary, Department of Telecommunications
- 11:45 11:52 Address by the Chief guest Mrs Anita Praveen, IAS, Additional Secretary, DoT, India
- 11:52 12:00 Inaugural address by Shri Malcolm Johnson, Deputy Secretary General, ITU
- 12:00 12:05 Session Chair Remarks Smt. Deepa Tyagi, Sr. DDG and Head of Telecom Engineering Center, DoT
- 12:05 12:10 Keynote Address by Shri Dilip Chenoy, Secretary General, FICCI
- 12:10 12:15 Keynote Address by Dr. S. K. Mishra, Prof. & Head, SGPGI Telemedicine Program, PG Inst. of Medical Sciences, Lucknow, India
- 12:15 12:20 Keynote Address by Dr. R k Upadhyay, Executive Director, Centre for Development of Telematics (CDOT)
- 12:20 12:20 Keynote Address by Dr. Aloknath De, Sr. Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Samsung India
- 12:20 12:25 Keynote Address by Shri Vikram Tiwathia, Deputy Director General, COAI
- 12:25 12:30 Vote of Thanks and concluding by Prof. N K Goyal , Chairman Emeritus. TEMA & Vice Chairman, IAFI



On this World telecom and Information Society Day, Congratulations to the whole telecom fraternity for meeting the Challenge of COVID-19

Stay connected

Stay Safe

Stay Blessed

Thank you all Bharat.Bhatia@itu-apt.org